Moon phases

Rosimar Gouveia

The Moon has four phases : new, rising, full and waning. Each lasts about 7 to 8 days.

Not being a star, the moon does not emit its own light. However, we see it illuminated because it reflects light from the sun.

The moon has three main movements: rotation (around its own axis), revolution (around the earth) and translation (around the sun, along with the earth).

In this way, it assumes different positions relative to the Earth and the Sun. This makes its illuminated part seen in different ways along a lunar cycle.

Moon phases

New Moon

Crescent moon

Full moon

Waning moon

It is therefore known as the lunar month and during this period the 4 phases of the moon happen, that is, the complete lunar cycle occurs.

Already in the Sidereal Period the time it takes for the moon to rotate around its axis (rotation) is 27.3 days and this is also the time it takes to orbit around its axis. Earth (revolution).

Therefore, the sidereal month is considered approximately 2.25 days shorter than the synodic month.


The video produced by NASA shows the phases of the moon at one-hour intervals throughout 2018, as seen from the southern hemisphere.

Moon Phases 2018 - Southern Hemisphere - 4K


  • The "Super Moon" or "Super Full Moon" is characterized by the moment when the full moon is closest to Earth. At this time, it appears larger and brighter.
  • Eclipses are phenomena that occur when the Sun, Earth and Moon are aligned. Solar eclipses occur during the new moon when the moon is between the earth and the sun. Lunar eclipses occur during the full moon when the earth is between the moon and the sun.
  • One of Pink Floyd's most famous albums mention the dark side of the moon (" The Dark Side of the Moon "), however, all faces of the moon are illuminated by the sun. because the moon's rotation period is the same as its period of revolution, there is a face we never see of the earth, which would be that "dark side of the moon".

Also read :

Rosimar Gouveia