Carlos Fuentes, Mexican writer

Carlos Fuentes (1928-2012) was a Mexican writer, considered one of the greatest Spanish-language novelists in Latin America. He was, along with Mario Vargas Llosa, Gabriel Garcia Marquez and Octavio Paz, an exponent of the Latin American literary boom of the 60s.

Carlos Fuentes (1928-2012) was born in Panama City, Panama, on November 11, 1928, at the time his father served as a Mexican diplomat in the country. He spent his childhood in several countries, including Argentina, Brazil, Chile, Uruguay and the United States. At 16 he went to Mexico, where he began his work as a journalist.

He graduated in law from the Autonomous National University of Mexico and in Economics from the Institute for Advanced International Studies in Geneva, Switzerland. In 1954 he published his first book Los Dias Enmascarados, a collection of short stories that was well accepted by critics. In 1958 he published the soap opera “The Most Transparent Region”.

In the 60s, Carlos Fuentes lived in Paris, Venice and London. He has taught at Harvard, Cambridge, Priceton and other internationally renowned universities. Between 1972 and 1976, he was Mexico's ambassador to France.

His fictional work, composed of 22 novels and nine short story collections, is a vast panorama of Mexican history. It has long been a critic of the misdeeds of the Institutional Revolutionary Party of Mexico. It was noted for the style of fantastic realism, a frequent feature in Latin American authors. The work "Gringo Velho" (1985) was adapted for the cinema.

Carlos Fuentes received the National Prize for Literature, the most important of its kind in his country, received the Miguel de Cervantes Prize in 1987, the Prince of Asturias Prize in Spain, the UNESCO Picasso Medal, and the title Honorary Doctor, University of the Balearic Islands, Spain, for the quality and extent of his work.

Carlos Fuentes Macias passed away in Mexico City, Mexico, on May 15, 2012.

Works by Carlos Fuentes

The Masked Days, 1954
The Most Transparent Region, 1957
The Good Consciousness, 1959
Aura, 1962
The Death of Artemio Cruz, 1962
Sing of the Blind, 1964
Sacred Zone, 1967
Change of Skin, 1967
Birthday, 1969
The New Hispanic American Novel, 1968 < br /> The World of José Luís Cuevas, 1969
All Cats are Brown, 1970
The House with Two Doors, 1970
Nexican Times, 1971
Terra Nostra, 1975 < br /> Uma Família Lejana, 1980
Gringo Velho, 1985
The Campaign, 1990
The Buried Mirror, 1992
Diana ou to Caçadora Solitária, 1996
The Years com Laura Diaz, 1999
Itin Instinct, 2001
In This I Believe, 2002
The Chair of the Eagle, 2003
Against BUsh, 2004
All Happy Families, 2006
Will and Fortune, 2008
Vlad, 2010
The Great Latin American Novel, 2011